Deontay Wilder, Charles Martin - Marilyn Paulino RBRBoxin (16)
NewsPremier Boxing Champions

Deontay Wilder to Serve as Guest Analyst for Joshua vs. Breazeale Broadcast

Heavyweight ANALYSIS: DEONTAY WILDER TO BE IN-STUDIO GUEST ANALYST FOR ANTHONY JOSHUA vs. DOMINIC BREAZEALE Heavyweight TITLE FIGHT THIS SATURDAY, June 25, LIVE ON SHOWTIME®

Deontay Wilder, Charles Martin - Marilyn Paulino RBRBoxin (16)
Photo by Marilyn Paulino/RBRBoxing

SHOWTIME BOXING INTERNATIONAL® Airs at 5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT Live On SHOWTIME; Encore Presentation at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT

NEW YORK (June 21, 2016) – WBC Heavyweight World Champion Deontay Wilder will join the SHOWTIME announce team as an in-studio analyst for the SHOWTIME BOXING INTERNATIONAL® presentation of the IBF Heavyweight World Championship between undefeated champion Anthony Joshua and unbeaten challenger Dominic Breazeale on Saturday, June 25, live on SHOWTIME (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT).

The charismatic Wilder (36-0, 35 KOs) will provide commentary and insight from a New York studio along with Barry Tompkins and Steve Farhood before and after the fight.

Coverage of Joshua vs. Breazeale from the sold-out The O2 in London will be provided by Sky Sports with the play-by-play call from Nick Halling, analysis from Jim Watt, additional in-fight analysis from former WBA Heavyweight Champion David Haye, and post-fight interviews from Andy Scott.

An encore presentation of the SHOWTIME BOXING INTERNATIONAL telecast will air later that evening on SHOWTIME at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

The 26-year-old Joshua (16-0, 16 KOs) has compiled a perfect knockout record of 16-0 with 16 knockouts since turning professional shortly after winning the 2012 Olympic Gold Medal.

Earlier this year, Joshua earned the IBF Heavyweight World Championship with a second-round knockout of defending champion Charles Martin on SHOWTIME, earning a Heavyweight belt in the fewest number of fights in more than 20 years. The showdown with Breazeale is Joshua’s first since signing a multi-fight licensing agreement for Showtime Networks Inc., to be the exclusive U.S. television partner of the British sensation.

The 30-year-old Breazeale (17-0, 15 KOs) has knocked out nearly 90 percent of his opponents since turning professional after representing the United States at the 2012 Olympics. Standing at 6-foot-7, the Los Angeles native is one inch taller than the 6-foot-6 Joshua. The former NCAA football quarterback is coming off a career-best victory of previously once-beaten Amir Mansour on Jan. 23.

Also on Saturday, June 25, Keith Thurman will defend his WBA Welterweight World Championship against former titlist Shawn Porter in a blockbuster matchup of two of the world’s best 147-pound fighters, live in Primetime on CBS at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

 

RBRBoxing provides quality news, interviews, round-by-round updates and videos about the sweet science.

0 comments

FOLLOW @ RBR

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons