RBRBoxing’s 2016 Boxing Awards: Staff Awards


Check out the winners for all of the 2016 RBRBoxing Staff Awards.

The staff awards were voted on by 20 of our staff members and included the same categories and nominees as the fan awards.

Leave a comment with your winners for each category!

Fights that are already scheduled for 2017 were not included in the potential matchups section.

2016 RBRBoxing Staff Award Winners:

1. Knockout of the Year:

Canelo Alvarez v Amir Khan
Photo by David Becker/Getty Images

Winner: Canelo Alvarez KOs Amir Khan

2. Upset of the Year:

Andrzej Fonfara vs. Joe Smith Jr. - Amber Williams RBRBoxing (4)
Photo by Amber Williams/RBRBoxing

Takashi Uchiyama vs. Jezreel Corrales Getty Images
Photo by Getty Images/AFP/Kazuhiro Nogi

Winners (Tie):

Joe Smith Jr. Defeats Andrzej Fonfara
Jezreel Corrales Defeats Takashi Uchiyama

3. Worst Decision:

James DeGale vs Rogelio Medina
Photo by Esther Lin/Showtime

Winner: James DeGale vs. Porkey Medina

4. Fight of the Year:

Photo byHogan Photos

Winner: Francisco Vargas vs. Orlando Salido

5. Fighter of the Year:

santa cruz frampton
Photo by Marilyn Paulino/RBRBoxing

Winner: Carl Frampton

6. Rising Star:

Jarrett Hurd vs. Oscar Molina - MVP RBRBoxing (15)
Photo by Marilyn Paulino/RBRBoxing

Winner: Jarrett Hurd

7. Matchup You Most Want to See in 2017:

Gennady Golovkin vs. Canelo Alvarez
Fight edit by Liam Brady/RBRBoxing

Winner: Gennady Golovkin vs. Canelo Alvarez

8. Most One-Sided Beat Down:

Photo by Mikey Williams/Top Rank

Winner: Vasyl Lomachenko vs. Nicholas Walters

9. What Fighter Should Hang ‘Em Up:

Roy Jones Jr. - Gabriel Bouys AFP Getty Images
Photo by AFP/Getty Images

Winner: Roy Jones Jr.

10. Ring Girl of the Year:

Photo courtesy of Instagram

Winner: Janira Kremets

11. Female Fighter of the Year:

Heather Hardy vs. Shelly Vincent - MVP RBRBoxing (1)
Photo by Marilyn Paulino/RBRBoxing

Winner: Heather Hardy

12. Trainer of the Year:

Photo by Stacey Verbeek

Winner: Abel Sanchez

13. Promoter of the Year:

Matchroom Boxing Logo

Winner: Matchroom Boxing

14. Who Won the Television Battle?

HBO Boxing Logo
Winner: HBO

To Top