Deontay Wilder

Wilder vs. Fury All Access Wins Multiple Sports Emmy Awards


SHOWTIME Scores Wins For Outstanding Edited Sports Event Coverage And Outstanding Edited Sports Special Or Series

NEW YORK – May 21, 2019 – SHOWTIME Sports original documentary series ALL ACCESS earned two Sports Emmy Awards on Tuesday night at the 40th Annual Sports Emmy Award ceremony in New York City. These were the fourth and fifth Emmys overall for the ALL ACCESS series, which debuted in 2013.

The original series took home the honors for Outstanding Edited Sports Event Coverage for ALL ACCESS: WILDER vs. FURY EPILOGUE and Outstanding Edited Sports Special or Series for ALL ACCESS: WILDER VS. FURY.

Accepting the awards on Tuesday was Stephen Espinoza, President, Sports and Event Programming, Showtime Networks Inc. Espinoza recognized and thanked one of the main subjects, WBC Heavyweight World Champion Deontay Wilder, who was in attendance (following his first-round knockout victory on Saturday night in Brooklyn) to present multiple awards at Fredrick P. Rose Hall at Jazz at Lincoln Center. Espinoza also acknowledged SHOWTIME Sports Senior Creative Director Jonathan (Jody) Heaps, one of the driving forces behind ALL ACCESS since its inception, who is retiring after more than 30 years at the network.

This is the third Sports Emmy ALL ACCESS has earned in the Edited Sports Coverage category. The series, which chronicles the buildup and aftermath of boxing’s biggest prizefights, has previously won for EPILOGUE installments following Floyd Mayweather’s wins over Canelo Alvarez and Andre Berto.

Other nominees for Outstanding Edited Sports Event Coverage were Courtside at the NBA Finals (HBO), Mic’d Up: Super Bowl LIII (NFL Network), Road To The Super Bowl (CBS) and Tiger Woods – Return of the Roar (ESPN). The nominees for Outstanding Edited Sports Special or Series were 24/7: The Match: Tiger vs. Phil (HBO), A Football Life (NFL Network). NFL 360: Steve Gleason (NFL Network) and UFC 25 Years in Short (UFC Fight Pass).

SHOWTIME Sports has now earned 12 Sports Emmy Awards in the last eight years.

To Top