Professional Boxing: Demystifying the Weight Classes

Amanda Westcott/DAZN

Boxing was unpopular until the 19th and 20th centuries. The rising popularity has led to the division of weight classes.

Grouping boxers according to their respective weight classes offers them equal opportunity to compete fairly. For instance, it would be unfair if an overweight fighter is contesting with an underweight opponent for a championship.

For instance, it would be unfair if an overweight fighter is contesting with an underweight opponent for a championship.

The idea of weight classes came from the US and Britain. Typically, there were eight introductory boxing weight classes. But with time, more divisions were added up to the current 17 boxing divisions. The current divisions allow fighters to compete fairly with their opponents.

Participants get an opportunity to switch over to different weight divisions and weigh their capabilities. The comprehensive infographic on fighting styles gives more details on martial arts such as boxing.

Fighters can compete with other opponents with more or fewer pounds. The naming criteria of the weight classes depend on a particular boxing organization. Here is the breakdown of various weight classes.

Weight Class between 105 to 115 Pounds

The Minimumweight (or Strawweight) in boxing is 105 pounds, and the Light Flyweight weighs more than 105 pounds, but less than 108 pounds.

The Flyweight fighters weights range between 108 pounds to 112 pounds.

While the Super Flyweight weighs up to 115 pounds, younger opponents contest in this category of weight class.

Weight Division above 115 and Below 130 Pounds

The Junior Bantamweight fighters weigh between 116 and 118 pounds while the Super bantamweight weighs up to 122pounds.

The Junior Featherweight contestants weigh between 123 to 126 pounds, while the Super Featherweight goes between 127 to 130 pounds.

The main features of this weight class are sudden, quick punches and agile feet. Fighters in this category are often short with very high speed.

Weight Division above 130 and Below 154 Pounds

Fighters weighing between 131 to 135 pounds are the Junior Lightweight while those weighing between 136 and 140 are the Senior Lightweight.

Also, the Junior Welterweight fighters weigh between 141 to 147 pounds, while the Welterweight weighs up to 154 pounds.

This weight class is featured by fighters with high fighting skills and energy.

Weight Division above 154 Pounds

The Middleweight contestants weigh between 155 to 160 pounds while the Super Middleweight contestants weigh between 161 to 168 pounds.

Also, the Light Heavyweight contestants weigh between 169 to 175 pounds and the Cruiserweight fighters weigh between 176 to 200 pounds.

Above 200 Pounds

The Heavyweight contestants weigh 200 pounds or more. It is okay for a Heavyweight fighter to weigh more than 200 pounds.

Mike Tyson and Anthony Joshua are among the well-known and greatest boxing fighters that fall under the Heavyweight category.

Weight division is a crucial factor in obtaining a fair championship competition. Concerned organizations should observe the weight divisions accordingly. A fighter should be weighed before they can start a contest.

There have been various weight divisions since the 19th century. There are 17 weight classes to date in boxing championship that are used to classify fighters.

To Top